CMB logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

CMB Cheat Sheet 2026: One-Page Review of Must-Know Facts

TL;DR
  • CMB means Certified Master Baker, issued through Retail Bakers of America (RBA), with an online written exam plus an in-person practical.
  • The 2026 fee subtotal is $1,425: $25 application, $1,250 exam and $150 test-site fee, excluding membership and travel.
  • Pass marks: 75% on the written exam, at least 75% on each practical segment, and 75% overall for the practical.
  • The written exam must be passed before the practical, and both components must be completed within two years.

What This Cheat Sheet Covers (and What It Can't)

This is a one-page-style review of the Certified Master Baker credential from Retail Bakers of America: the facts worth putting on an index card, plus a clear list of the facts that are not publicly settled. The second half matters as much as the first. Candidates routinely lose time memorizing numbers that circulate in forums but cannot be confirmed in current RBA materials.

Everything below is drawn from the 2026 RBA Certification Guide and the current RBA certification web pages. Where the guide and the web pages disagree, this sheet says so rather than picking a winner. If you want the full narrative walk-through of preparation, pair this page with our CMB Study Guide 2026; if you want category-by-category depth, see CMB Exam Domains 2026: Complete Guide to All 12 Content Areas.

Scope reminder: "CMB" here means Certified Master Baker only. The acronym is shared by unrelated credentials in other fields, and nothing on this sheet applies to them. If you are new to the term, What Is CMB Certification? gives the plain-language background.

The CMB at a Glance

ItemWhat RBA Publishes
Certifying bodyRetail Bakers of America (RBA)
Written componentOnline, multiple choice, timed, completed in one sitting; delivered through ExamBuilder.com
Practical componentIn-person, hands-on baking, evaluated by RBA; reported by examining institutions as 16 hours over two eight-hour days
Order of examsWritten exam must be passed before the practical
Written pass mark75%
Practical pass markAt least 75% in each segment and 75% overall
Completion windowBoth components within two years
MembershipActive RBA membership required throughout candidacy; no nonmember exam tier
National pass rateNot publicly disclosed

Notice what the practical row says: the 16-hour, two-day figure comes from first-party reports by examining institutions describing specific events. It is a useful planning estimate for your calendar and travel, but it is not a universal RBA specification, and it must never be attached to the written exam, which is a separate, timed online sitting.

Eligibility Checklist: What RBA Asks For

The 2026 Certification Guide lists the following prerequisites for the CMB. Treat this as a checklist to complete before you apply:

  1. Active RBA membership during your entire candidacy.
  2. Sanitation training: ServSafe or approved equivalent sanitation training.
  3. 30 professional-development contact hours. These are contact hours, not CEUs; the guide defines one CEU as ten contact hours, so do not confuse the two units when logging your documentation.
  4. A portfolio submitted as part of your application.
  5. Qualifying experience: the guide specifies a Certified Baker (CB) credential plus three or more years of verifiable full-time commercial/retail baking experience, or more than ten years of such experience without the CB.
Live-source conflict: The 2026 guide states the CB-plus-three-years pathway, while the current RBA Q&A page says CB plus four years. Both are published by the issuer, and they disagree. Do not assume either is correct. Confirm your exact eligibility with RBA in writing before paying any fees. Our CMB Requirements 2026 article tracks this and the other prerequisite details.

Fees, Membership and Timing

RBA's 2026 guide and web pages agree on the fee schedule:

FeeAmount (USD)
Application$25
CMB examination$1,250
Test-site fee$150
Subtotal$1,425

That subtotal excludes your RBA membership dues, travel and lodging to the practical test site, ingredient and equipment practice costs, and any reference books. Because there is no nonmember tier for the CMB, membership is a cost of entry, not an optional add-on. Older documents showing nonmember pricing come from earlier-year materials and should not be used. For the full budgeting picture, see CMB Certification Cost 2026.

Timing rules worth memorizing

  • Two-year completion window: both the written and practical components must be finished within two years. This is a candidacy deadline, not the validity period of the credential.
  • Recipe and ingredient approval: generally due about 30 days before the practical. Late submissions risk your practical date.
  • Written before practical: you cannot sit the practical until the written exam is passed.

For scheduling specifics and testing windows, check CMB Exam Dates 2026 and confirm current dates directly with RBA.

Passing Thresholds You Must Memorize

The 75% Rule, Three Ways

RBA's published criteria use 75% repeatedly, but it applies differently to each part of the exam.

  • Written exam: 75% to pass.
  • Each practical segment: at least 75%.
  • Practical overall: 75% across the whole practical.

The practical rule is the one that catches strong candidates. A high score in one segment does not rescue a segment that falls below 75%, because the per-segment floor applies independently of the overall average. Plan your practical so that no single segment is a weak point, rather than relying on strengths to carry you.

Thresholds are not pass rates: The 75% figures are passing criteria. They say nothing about how many candidates succeed, and RBA does not publish a national pass rate. Be skeptical of any site quoting one. For what is and is not known, read CMB Pass Rate 2026: What the Data Shows and CMB Passing Score 2026.

Also avoid assuming the written and practical components carry equal weight in any combined sense. RBA publishes separate pass criteria for each; it does not publish a blended score formula.

The Twelve Written Categories, Quick-Reference

The current RBA Certification Q&A states that the online written exam uses multiple-choice questions drawn from Certification Board-approved general baking knowledge categories. The list below reproduces those twelve categories. Two cautions apply: the list comes from a Q&A that covers several RBA certification levels, and RBA publishes no weights, so treat these as unweighted preparation categories rather than a CMB-specific blueprint.

1. Ingredients

Know functional roles, not just names.

  • What flour, sugar, fat, leavening, eggs and dairy each do structurally
  • Substitution consequences and storage behavior

2. Terms

Baking vocabulary used precisely.

  • Process, dough-handling and product-description terminology
  • Questions may hinge on a single exact definition

3. Math

Bakery math under time pressure.

  • Scaling and converting formulas, yield and portioning
  • Cost and percentage calculations; practice by hand, since calculator rules are unverified

4. Tools

Hand tools and small wares.

  • Correct tool for the task and its proper use

5. Equipment

Production equipment.

  • Mixers, ovens, proofers and related machinery: purpose, operation and care

6. Systems

How a bakery operates as a workflow.

  • Production flow, sanitation and food-safety systems

7. Doughs

The technical core for many bakers.

  • Fermentation, mixing, shaping, proofing and baking principles across dough families

8. Merchandising

Selling what you bake.

  • Display, presentation and product positioning in a retail setting

9. Labeling

Required product information.

  • Ingredient declarations and allergen communication

10. Nutrition

Nutritional literacy for bakery products.

  • Basic nutrient concepts and how they relate to labeling

11. Personnel

People side of the bakery.

  • Hiring, training, scheduling and supervising staff

12. Management

Running the business.

  • Cost control, planning and operational decision-making

Because the exam draws from "general" categories and RBA does not publish a weighted blueprint, it would be misleading to tell you which category is largest. A safer approach is breadth first: make sure none of the twelve is a blind spot, then deepen the ones where you are weakest. Our full domains guide expands each category with example topics.

Practical Exam Prep: What a Written Bank Can't Do

The practical is a separate, hands-on assessment, and no written question bank replaces it. Written practice builds the knowledge side; it does not certify that you can produce products to standard in a timed, evaluated environment.

  • Use the assigned materials. Practical preparation runs on the assigned test-site guidebook and RBA formulas. Local assignments and specific practical products should not be treated as universal topics for the written exam.
  • Submit approvals early. Recipe and ingredient approval is generally expected about 30 days before the practical, so build that deadline into your timeline.
  • Clear every segment. Remember the per-segment 75% floor; rehearse the segments you find least natural.
  • Plan the logistics. A multi-day practical means travel, lodging and time away from your bakery. Budget these on top of the $1,425 subtotal.

Key Takeaway

Use written practice to lock down the twelve categories, then shift your remaining time to timed, hands-on production against the test-site guidebook. If you want written drill material, the practice questions on the CMB Exam Prep practice test site cover the knowledge side only, and they do not substitute for practical readiness.

What Is Still Unverified (Don't Memorize Rumors)

A good cheat sheet is honest about its gaps. The following items are not confirmed by current official RBA sources, so treat any specific number you see elsewhere as unreliable until RBA confirms it:

ItemStatus
Written question countExamining-institution reports describe 200 questions, but the current RBA guide does not independently confirm it
Scored vs. unscored questionsNot published
Written exam time limitDescribed as timed, one sitting; numerical duration unverified
Topic weights / largest categoryNot published; no official blueprint
Open-book, calculator and remote-proctoring rulesUnverified
Credential validity periodNot publicly verified
Renewal fees and recurring CENot publicly verified
National pass rateNot publicly disclosed
Don't confuse candidacy with renewal: The two-year completion window and the 30 preparation contact hours are candidacy requirements. They are not renewal rules and should not be read as a recurring continuing-education quota. Ask RBA directly what, if anything, applies after you are certified.

Similarly, the 16-hour practical figure is an event report and should stay attached to the practical only. If a source quotes a time limit for the written exam, ask where it came from.

A Category-Driven Sequencing Plan

You do not need a generic study system here, just a sequence that respects how the categories relate. Math and Terms are the fastest to make progress on and underpin everything else; Doughs and Ingredients reward steady reading; Personnel, Management and Merchandising reward practical business context. One reasonable ordering:

Weeks 1-2

Foundations: Terms, Math, Ingredients

  • Build a vocabulary list and drill formula scaling by hand
  • Review ingredient functions against your reference books
Weeks 3-4

Production Knowledge: Doughs, Tools, Equipment, Systems

  • Connect dough principles to the equipment and workflow that produce them
  • Revisit sanitation material alongside your ServSafe-type training
Weeks 5-6

Business Side: Merchandising, Labeling, Nutrition, Personnel, Management

  • Practice reading and building ingredient and allergen statements
  • Work through staffing and cost-control scenarios
Weeks 7-8

Integration and Practical Rehearsal

  • Mixed-category written drills to expose weak spots
  • Timed production runs against the test-site guidebook and RBA formulas

Adjust the length to your experience. A baker with years of retail production but little management exposure should shift time toward Personnel and Management; a manager who rarely produces should shift toward Doughs and the practical. For a deeper plan, see the CMB Study Guide, and for realistic expectations about workload, How Hard Is the CMB Exam?

Reference Books on RBA's Recommended List

The RBA written study guide is a foundation, and the 2026 guide also directs candidates to recommended baking references. The titles it lists are:

  • Professional Baking
  • Practical Baking
  • Professional Pastry Chef
  • The Baker's Manual
  • Professional Baker's Manual
  • Baking: The Art and Science
  • Applied Foodservice Sanitation
  • Serving Safe Food (ServSafe)
  • HACCP Food Safety Manual
  • How Baking Works
  • On Food and Cooking

The guide does not specify editions, so confirm with RBA or your test site if edition matters to you. Map each title to the categories above: sanitation and HACCP titles support Systems; the science-oriented titles support Ingredients and Doughs; the general baking texts support Terms, Tools, Equipment and Math. For more on structured preparation options, see CMB Training.

Frequently Asked Questions

What does CMB stand for in this context?

Certified Master Baker, a credential offered through Retail Bakers of America (RBA). It is unrelated to other credentials that share the same acronym. See What Does CMB Stand For? for more.

How much does the CMB cost in 2026?

RBA's 2026 materials list a $25 application fee, a $1,250 exam fee and a $150 test-site fee, for a $1,425 subtotal. That excludes RBA membership, travel and practice costs. Active membership is required throughout candidacy.

What score do I need to pass?

RBA publishes 75% for the written exam, at least 75% on each practical segment, and 75% overall for the practical. These are passing criteria, not measured pass rates, which RBA does not disclose.

How many questions are on the written exam, and how long is it?

Current RBA sources do not confirm a question count, scored/unscored split or numerical time limit. Examining-institution reports mention 200 questions, but treat that as an event report. RBA describes the written exam as timed and completed in one sitting.

Do I need the CB credential first?

The 2026 guide lists a CB plus three or more years of qualifying full-time experience, or over ten years without the CB. The RBA Q&A says CB plus four years. Because the sources conflict, confirm your eligibility with RBA before applying. Details are in CMB Requirements 2026.

Whether the credential pays off for your career depends on your goals and market; our ROI analysis, salary guide and CMB jobs overview cover that side. When you are ready to test your written knowledge across all twelve categories, head to the CMB Exam Prep practice test.

Ready to pass your CMB exam?

Put this into practice with free CMB questions across every exam domain.